Australian Curriculum

At Rose Park Primary School the core curriculum currently includes English, Mathematics, Humanities and Social Sciences, Science, Arts, Languages (Japanese), Health and Physical Education and Technologies.

The Australian Curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all Australian students. The Australian Curriculum describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It makes clear what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.

The Australian Curriculum includes seven general capabilities:
•Information and communication technology (ICT) capability
•Critical and creative thinking
•Personal and social capability
• Ethical behaviour

The general capabilities encompass the knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that, together with curriculum content in each learning area and the cross-curriculum priorities, will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

The Australian Curriculum gives special attention to these three priorities:
• Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
• Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia
• Sustainability.
Cross-curriculum priorities are embedded in all learning areas.
For further information refer to the Australian Curriculum.